Still not satisfied

I don’t know what it is that I’m looking for in a soap bar packaging idea, but I know without a doubt that I have not found it….yet.  This is really getting frustrating because it’s gone on way too long and these changes make product identification difficult.  Branding needs consistency and this is not getting me there.  My latest version of labeling was card stock in a cigar band type labeling approach with my signature branding “N” on it to seal up the overlap and the info printed on the band.  First the centering of the text is a problem, then getting the ingredients listing on the back instead of partly on the back and partly on one side is difficult without something running off to one side or another, and the cigar band style shows no finesse, no style, no edgy creativity.  It lacks inspiration.  I need an “AHA!” moment.  I need a light bulb to not only go off but to blind me with its brilliance.  So far, all I have is a 25 watt nightlight on a dimmer switch.  Rrrrggh!

my boring labels

Initially, I was happy with these, but then I shoot myself in the foot by looking around at others soap packaging ideas and the things that are covering all those beautiful boards in Pinterest (yes, I have one) and I groan in pain….and not a little bit of jealousy.  I look around on those boards and wonder where they get all these beautiful papers, these genius ideas for wrapping up their lovely soaps, how they’e worked it out so it isn’t too costly in time or money.  This depresses me.  Honestly depresses me.  So, it’s back to the design board for me and to find a way to create something pretty, pleasing to my eye as well as the public’s, yet still carry the message of my product with its branding clearly visible.  Humbug!

Leave a Reply

