Celestia

This is one that took a bit more time to get to than I’d like.  Molds had to be ordered, FO had to be ordered, then all I needed was the time to pour the embeds – trickier than you might think – wait for them to be firm enough to cut for sticking into the soap, and finding time to make the soap – again, trickier than you might think.  Health issues have stalled or cancelled outright, many things I’d wanted to be doing, but now that most of them are behind us, I can finally get down to work.

The Suns used NGs 24K Gold mica and their Diamond Dust Glitter was in the moons.  These were poured and chilled then cut in half for embedding.

The soap was my usual recipe, with swirls of Ultramarine Blue and Ultramarine Violet (Bramble Berry), dashes of star glitter (Nature’s Garden and Candles) for the sun and moon to nestle in. These colours have been used before in cp soaps I’ve made in the past and they’ve performed beautifully so I’m keeping fingers (the good ones anyway) crossed that it will do so again this time.   The FO is Sun, Moon and Stars (NG), which has notes of clover, ivy, jasmine, & vetiver.    To me it smells like a blue scent, but with the notes you’d think it would be a green scent. Maybe the cured scent will be slightly different from what it smells like outside of a cp soap.  This particular FO has .3% vanillin, so I did use vanilla colour stabilizer  (Wholesale Supplies Plus).

I’d pictured this one in my head and made every effort to have it turn out exactly like that and this time, hooray,  it did!  I’m looking forward to the cut day now to see what it looks like inside.  This one just went off without a hitch the entire way through.  What a plus to enjoy this time!  I’ve had such a struggle with so many distractions around me that my soaping has suffered a lot, with omitting things that are vital to its good use and successful outcome.

Celestia CP soap

Now the tricky part will be seeing if I’ve placed the embeds in the right spots for the right sized slices!  That’s been the bane of my embed existence.  Remember the Chai Latte?  Ugh!  I’d rather not.  But I’ve got high hopes for this one.  It’s in the fridge for a while to prevent a gel circle from marring the soap after all the effort it took to ensure it comes out like it should.  Fingers crossed folks!

Now I can go  forward to the next project with embeds, though no hints here or spoilers to let you know what that will be.  I guess you’ve noticed by now that I don’t strictly adhere to the seasons & holidays for each soaping project.  I feel it hinders the potential for the sell-ability for my bath & body products if they look tied to a holiday or season rather than all year round which is what I’d prefer.  Christmas stuff just looks strange sitting in the soap dish in May or June. I don’t like being boxed in to any limitations that building a collection around a holiday can bring.   I always did like thinking differently.

There are maybe three other projects I want to try to do, but I don’t know that I could squeeze them all in before Tuesday, when I have surgery scheduled for my right hand – and yes, I’m right handed –  which will put a stop, at least for a few days, to any heavy duty use, including holding a stick blender comfortably.  I don’t  like falling behind on things, so I’m trying to get as many done as possible before Tuesday.  Then I can relax about what to work on after I get at it again.  I want to try to make a batch of liquid soap paste for use as hand soap in pump bottles. Don’t know if it’ll be good enough for shampoo, but maybe, depending on the oils used.  After that I’d like to make another batch of lip balm and a couple more body butters, maybe some that are a bit softer in the jars, but still firm enough that they aren’t messy when applying or scooping from their jars.  I made one that I initially thought of as being a facial serum, but decided on making it an emulsified butter instead, then let it firm in the jar.  It’s a very soft butter, with lots of great things for faces like Vitamin E, Vitamin A, Vitamin C in the form of Camu Camu Fruit Powder, and Lemon Peel powder for light, gentle exfoliation.  I’ve been using it all the time on my face and my skin feels wonderful!  I’ve even tried it on feel, knees, and elbows and wow, what a difference it’s made!  The formula for lip balms needs to be changed to one that eliminates the shea and subbing with something else or find a way to prevent the grittiness it can sometimes get when heated.  A Mad Scientist day is called for.

Leave a Reply

