December 28, 2012

Well, since the Mayans were wrong, way off the mark actually, on their dire predictions of the end of civilisation as we know it, I thought I’d celebrate being able to have a 54th birthday after all by soaping like a fiend.  So 3 new soaps in all were added into the line but these had a little something extra, or as they say nowadays, as little sumpin sumpin.  These had the newest ingredients I’m trying out in my soaps.  The jury is out on whether it’s worth it to add it in, since the poor old stick blender doesn’t like it too much (slows it down audibly), but I’ll keep trying until one of these batches is ready for human consumption and it’s deemed worthy.

I ordered some silk fibers to add into the mix (the lye mix) and through trial and error found the best thing is to shred it up pretty good then add it into the lye right when it’s being combined.  I put it into the pitcher that already has the water, then pour in the lye, stir often and let the heat do the rest.  It seems to dissolve the fibres pretty decently though they are there as attested by my protesting stick blender when the lye is added to the oils.  It slows down significantly.  I dunno.   If it burns out my sb I’ll be royally pissed!  But too soon to tell.  Maybe there’s something I’m not catching on to with this newest luxury ingredient.

Here’s the cut pics of the soaps made with the silk, milks, and 3-oil blend.  A couple of them also have cocoa butter in them.  These will be nice hard bars!

This one’s the For The Roses Silky Milk soap:

For The RosesSilky Milk Soap

For The Roses
Silky Milk Soap

It has a custom blend of FOs and EOs with rose being dominant among the scents.  It contains 3 oils, cocoa butter,  colloidal oatmeal, 3 milks, silk, Vitamin E, and just the TD and Red Clay Mica from Conservatorie.  The heart shaped embeds are unscented, clear M&P with a splash of red mica added to make them sparkle in the light.  You might notice that there’s a heart in the swirl in the top bar. It appeared serendipitously in the swirling process and shows up in only 2 of the bars.   Seemed appropriate as I was thinking these would be the Valentine’s soaps for this year.  Strange though that the swirl below the heart sort of looks like a whale.  Hmmmm….

Here’s the Garden of Delight Silky Milk Soap

Garden of DelightSilky Milk Soap

Garden of Delight
Silky Milk Soap

It’s fragranced with the FO from NG called Deb’s Flower Shoppe.  It’s a lush green, watery, floral scent that features lilies predominantly which makes it one of the hubby’s least favorite scents, though he didn’t seemed to mind it in the soap, it was pretty strong OOB.  This one is also made with silk, 3 milks, 3 oils, but also has colloidal oatmeal, and vitamin E.  Just two colours in here since I really don’t like how yellow looks in a swirl, and it was setting up too quickly to do more than the two.  Yellow seems to do better when it’s an all-the-way-through colour.  The swirls turned out rather nice espite earlier misgivings about my soaping day.

and last but not least, the difficult to name Arboretum Silky Milk Soap:

Arboretum Silky Milk Soap

Arboretum
Silky Milk Soap

The first one made was the Arboretum.  It started out unnamed, then once it was in the mold I’d tried brushing the mica onto the tops with the back of a spoon and it looked glittery, shiny, rather Autumnal, so I thought about naming it All That Glitters.  Then it set up and the shiny began to go dull, like soaps will do, so I nixed that name.  I thought about Borealis for a bit, but the swirls were only one colour while a borealis isn’t.  So  that got nixed as well.  I thought then about just using the name of the FO from NG called Indian Summer, but I really don’t like to do that.  It seems like the easy way out, so that too, went the way of the dodo.  Who knew the naming of a soap could be this darn difficult?  Go figure!  So I thought about it for a bit longer, and since the word arboretum makes me think of trees – many trees – and this has the green leaves of summer while the fall colours float on the surface like they do, only reversed, in a real tree’s fall wardrobe, I went with Arboretum.

Originally I was not at all happy with my day’s efforts.  They seemed too rushed and haphazard in appearance.  Nothing like I’d wanted them to be at all.  However, this morning’s cutting of all three loaves turned out to go a long way in validating the day’s work.  Frustrating, yes it was, but as they turned out, it appears it was worth it.  The green swirling in Arboretum was  a bit too much, but in many bars ( you’re only seeing the really pretty ones here), but they’re not just about the looks, though that IS the part that sells it.  But the cut images restored my faith in the day.

It was a very productive birthday over all.  It might just become a tradition for my birthday.  Soap all day, eat cake that night.  Perfect way to celebrate another year successfully completed, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

