A big step finally accomplished

Finally I decided it was time to just go for it and join the Handcrafted Soapmaker’s Guild despite the cost.  It includes insurance, which was very important to me.  More than 18 months ago, when I first began looking into this membership, the benefit I was most interested in was the web site they offered to host.  While this is no longer the vital need it once was thanks to Weebly’s easy web site building tools and affordable hosting, the insurance was another plus that still had yet to be handled until now.  With this I feel like I can breathe a bit easier now, knowing that this step covers me and my business.

The Facebook store was my first store to be publicly released, and while it never generated the exposure or revenue that I’d hoped it would, it was still my first store front.  It’s a sentimental attachment.  Now that’s gone.  The store is still there, but it’s no longer with Payvment.  It’s now being managed by Ecwid.  I’ve never heard of them and often mispronounce it.  The layout isn’t nearly as attractive as the Lish store use to be.  *heavy sigh* It isn’t as quick and seamless as Lish was with Payvment.  I don’t know if I’ll even bother with continuing to maintain it.  I’ll keep it at least for a while just to see if it’s worth it to continue, but if not, I’ll simply close the doors on it.  It was nice to have that link for a time, but it isn’t worth the effort put forth to maintain it, keep it current, and have no revenue generated by it as a tangible sign of all the work paying off.

 

GuildMember-Color

Leave a Reply

