Iiiiit’s monday. Blerg.

Mood wise, don’t misunderstand me, it was a good day.  Hand’s doing better all the time, very little pain, flexibility is returning, right hand feels like nothing was ever done.

Work was good,  My co-workers are always fun to be with for several hours a day, which is a huge plus.

Still, it was lousy in a couple of small ways.  First way in which it sucked was over a sports event that didn’t come off as planned.  Oh well, maybe next year?  Right.

The second is soap-related.  I really want to make some new soaps, lotions, balms, serums, lip butters.  Unfortunately, it wouldn’t be a good idea to have that much stuff piling up around here.  Nothings I’ve made recently is moving the way I’d hoped it would.  The web site is dead in the water.  No one visits, or if they do, they don’t shop there and I don’t get any feedback from it either, so I don’t know what the problem is, if there is one, so it can be fixed.  It’s really discouraging.  There are two web sites for selling the things I make, and nothing is selling.  Nothing’s sold since November, and that order was from one person.

Between the two web sites, I’ve had a total of three orders, all from the same person, and those right before Christmas.  Both stores have been open since last July.  Is it always this desperately slow?  How can I afford to keep going with nothing moving?  I don’t know if I can physically handle the rigorous work it takes to do a market again.  It was exhausting for those twelve years I did it in my forties, but I’m ten years older now and feeling it more lately than I’d like, so I don’t know if I can handle that much strenuous loading, unloading, facing the public for hours at a time when I’m such an introvert.

Some soapers, I’ve been reading, are wholesale and online exclusively.  This interests me, but no one has approached me and these soapers have stated they are being approached by the stores, not the other way around.  So, I need to reflect on my goals, the purpose, the product lines, and see what needs to be changed.  I’ve checked the settings for my online stores and they are fine, fully functional so that isn’t the issue.  Apparently it’s a matter of becoming known over time, but I don’t know if I have that much time before I can’t afford to do this anymore and don’t have room for any new product.  Then there’s the questions of what to do with the old stuff. We can only use just so much of it, then what? Time to do some serious thinking about the next steps.

Leave a Reply

