Black Raspberry Vanilla

So many other soapers have used this fragrance in their soaps, using widely varying techniques to swirl it that it intrigued me to try it out, if only just to find out what it smells like soaped CP style.  It didn’t accelerate  At. All.  Fabulous fragrance to soap with if you ever decide to try it out.  The data sheet stated no vanilla content, so I didn’t need to add a stabilizer and it worked out perfectly without it.    This particular version of BRV is from Wholesale Supplies Plus, but I’ve heard that Bramble Berry also has a wonderful version as well.  Someday I’ll get some and find out.  A fragrance distributor within a particular Facebook group also sells a  version, so it’ll be interesting to compare the results from each over time.  This batch was rather small since I have so much stock setting on the cure racks already, but it’s enough to use a log mold and use two different swirls designs.

The colours were from Conservatorie – Peacock Blue and Shimmering Red Clay micas blended together to give (hopefully) a dark plum shade.  Guess I’ll find out soon enough if blended , though allegedly CP friendly micas morph. It’s a hanger swirl beneath the surface.  I used a bit of New Moon Black Mica for a mica-in- oil swirl on the top, dotted with sugar pearls in black.  I also added some White Pearl Mica to the contrasting colour beneath the surface.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed that this time, the hanger was wide enough to make a visibly obvious swirl in the two coloured soap.  The last one was a bit of a disappointment due to the hanger being a bit too narrow.

It has silk, and a bit of superfatting with cocoa butter as well, so with luck, this one will be not only pretty but also feel wonderful on the skin when used.  I love this fragrance!  It’s lush without being overpowering or sickly sweet.  It isn’t going to ever take the place of the Peach Jubilee from WSP in CP soap, but it’s a good one to keep as a mainstay.  That peach, omg, is such a full bodied scent.  In cp soap it smells like peaches & cream, I kid you not.  Mmmm, makes my mouth water and my eyes roll whenever I smell it in the room when the air stirs from the fans. So, here’s the pic of the BRV in the mold while it was still wet, newly poured and swirled with a wooden skewer.

Black Raspberry Vanilla Silky Milk Soap. A coconut milk soap - ready May 6th, just in time for Mother's Day!

Black Raspberry Vanilla Silky Milk Soap. A coconut milk soap – ready May 6th, just in time for Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

