An (almost) all coconut soap

I’d seen and read about others all-coconut soaps, how they loved how wonderful the soap feels, like a lotions was applied right after use, and my curiosity really would not leave me alone about this until i tried it.  I had to do this, so on to the great Research & Development department to see what we can pull together.

The first two were a no-go.   Didn’t like them at all!  These soaps have one thing we have to know right from the beginning – coconut really, REALLY cleans your skin.  Some describe it as drying, but that’s a bit of a misnomer It’s not so much a drying oil as it is an oil that cleans very well.  It’s a great bubble producer, too, which is why so many soaps are built around coconut oil. But unfortunately some folks can’t have nut oils, like coconut, almond, etc, due to allergies.  For those, I like to use Babassu oil in the place of Coconut.  But that featured item is for another day.  Right now we’re all about Coconut!

I love making a bubbly bar of soap, one that foams like a fiend in the shower when you use a pouf, or washcloth, leave your skin clean, but I don’t like soaps that leave you  feeling dried out.  Most of the other soapers I’ve read posts from on the topic of all-coconut soaps have used all coconut, 100%.  Mine, I decided to do the superfat with sweet almond oil.  Not sure why unless it was to make it easier to mix the micas in for the swirls.  But that couldve been done with just a few teaspoonfuls.  I guess the main reason, if I had to state one, is that I like using almond because of the moisturizing properties the oil is known to have plus it’s excellent for mature skin.  The skin loves it and absorbs it readily, taking in without leaving too much on the surface to be lost on the things you touch or pick up.

With the super-cleansing coconut is known for, it’s necessary to use a large  amount of superfatting with this particular type of bar soap.  I went with the standard here and used a 20% superfat, but did that with the Sweet Almond.  For those who are new to soap-making, please note here that superfatting and a lye discount are not synonymous.  Use the full amount of lye for your soap recipe, then take the amount of oils you have in that baseline recipe and multiply that by 20% or .20 to get the amount of required oil to do the superfatting.  This is your superfatting oil.  I also took the lye discount out of my calculator completely.  I use SoapMaker 3, just in case you’re wondering, but reduced the discount down to 0%, then calculated the superfatting and added it into my Notes for the recipe.  If I’d added it into the baseline recipe, it would’ve changed the amount of lye required, increasing it to match the newly increased amount of oils in the recipe.  This would not give me a superfat of 20%. It would have increased the lye amount by 0.67 ounces reducing the superfat percentage  to under 5%.  This would not have been enough to make the soap ideally cleansing and softening as it’s hoped to be. I used two colours to match the fragrance notes of citrus and cilantro, plus an oil/mica swirl of deep emerald green on the top.

Coconut soap, as yet unnamed

Coconut soap, as yet unnamed

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

and here are some views of the bars after they’ve been cut….

 

Citrus Cilantro 3 (1024x768)

Leave a Reply

