Scams are everywhere

Today I received a letter.  A letter from an opportunistic leech.  Now maybe I’m presuming guilt where there is none.  Perhaps they are legit and just trying to help, but the cynic in me thinks they just want to steal my money and run with it.

The company sells domain names, allegedly.  Internet Domain Name Services.  They sent a letter telling me the date my domain name ownership expires. which I already knew.  They then proceed to state I should lock in my name to protect myself by getting the .net and .org names as well so there is no confusion on my customers’ part.  It’s only $540 to do all of those.  A pittance I suppose to protect my domain name, right?   Of course there’s an equal chance they are honest and trying to help me out, but they made the mistake to reminding me of something I already knew long before was necessary, voluntarily sent me this form requesting I send them $540 without any knowledge of their integrity, honesty, or ability or intention of providing the services I sent them the money to do.  I don’t trust anyone who sends me such mailings when they’ve purchased or found and nabbed my name from the net in hopes of profiting from it somehow.  I would hope that all other independent crafters and artisans will be as cynical and not trust strangers too quickly.  Their numbers are legion.

The host I use for my web site, Weebly, has always been friendly, helpful, honest, forthright, and extremely quick to respond when there’s a problem or question.  I asked them about this company and they might very well discover this company is legitimate, but I’d rather be safe than sorry (and broke!) so I sent along the name that I received the mail from today.

Many others are out there, the Nigerian scam promising millions in overseas funds, ship our products overseas if we’ll accept their credit cards and (which aren’t real), buy their supplies from a country we regard as highly suspect or sell second-rate goods.  The list grows every year and our hard earned money is constantly under threat.

Be aware of those seeking the quick money stolen from your pockets.  Ask your fellow crafters about those hinky  emails you’ve received, they’ll be happy to help you discern the company’s legitimacy.  We’ve all been on the receiving end of those trying to part us from our income and learned to recognize the signs from a mile away.

Leave a Reply

