Change is good. Right?

If you’ve followed my blog for any length of time you’ve probably noticed the theme changes. One of my many personality flaws is my need to change things up.  Frequently.  Well it’s been a lifelong thing with me.  I was one of those kids who rearranged my room practically on a weekly basis.  There’s no telling what condition the floors were in by the time I moved out!  But I had to.  I loved to change things up, breathe fresh air into a part of my world that heretofore had lain hidden, dark and gathering dust bunnies and forgotten or lost items.

My web site’s theme also suffers the same fate.  The theme has changed several times, only to evolve into a cleaner layout each time.  Like this blog.

I started out with homey, rustic or cozy looks, thinking it should make you want to put your bunny-slippered feet up, tuck your legs beneath you and read, read, read.  Then time passed and I realized I wanted something sweet, appealing to that feminine side in many of us that loves a good movie, good book or a creative past-time that yearns for exploration.  Shabby Chic lives in my heart, but it doesn’t always allow me to emote on every level.

Then I leaned towards clean lines, orderly layouts, easy-to-read fonts. This one has been the hardest to stick with.  I’m a font hoarder.  I’m sure there’s an intervention or 12-step program out there or perhaps there should be for people like me but I’d never attend.  I’m happy to wallow in my wealth of typographical largess. It’s my happy place.  Still, not everyone finds it easy to read some of them even if I can. So, here we are.  In a clean, orderly layout with a  basic font that’s easy to read.  And surprisingly enough, I like it!

This organized place, theme-wise and life-wise, is where I reside now.  It’s not always going to be cabbage roses and sun-bleached colours of shabby chic, but they still exist in my world, just not everywhere.  Only on those very special things I reach for when I need a lift. Being tidy with the ecommerce and literary world is a good thing as it’s about growth.

People are not static creatures.  They perpetually grow, change, evolve, morph into someone else until they finally land on their feet solidly with a confidence that will carry them through to their golden years, or at least they’ll attempt it with all they have to do so.  That is human nature.  Yours.  Mine. Everyone’s.  So growth is good and change makes it real. A palpable thing. A tangible image you can place a time and date stamp on for all to see.

Leave a Reply

