Phytoscents for Bath & Body

What is a phytoscent?  It’s a fragrance from the plant that contains nutrients and beneficial components in the formulation, bringing function to your bath & body care in a way that a standard fragrance or essential oil scent does not.  Formulator Sample Shop carries this line of additives to extend bath & body formulations to a whole new level.  You can find their full list here.

PhytoScent Vanilla

Solution color

I was offered a chance to try out a phytoscent in soap, knowing that I love to play mad scientist  as often as I can, I jumped at this golden opportunity.  I chose to use one that I don’t have in abundance in my regular selections of fragrances, which, as it turns out, is vanilla.  Why don’t I have that one?  Well, as many a soaper will tell you, working with a fragrance that contains vanilla, or vanillin, will discolor your soaps in varying degrees.  They will turn anywhere from a light tan to a very dark brown and if your design doesn’t have that colour in its theme, well, there goes your design.  It’s totally eclipsed by the discoloration.

Going in, I’m assuming it will darken, so I didn’t use any additional colour.  I added more to one portion of the soap batter than the other and the division of the soap wasn’t equal.  It was probably closer to 2/3 : 1/3.

I used a regular 2 lb loaf mold plus a samples silicone mold, my standard regular recipe that contains silk fiber, coconut milk but no micas.  Here are the pics in order of the creation process.  They’re are captioned within the image so you know what you’re looking at.

Oils and milk

Fragrance added

Oops, sorry about the typo – should be ‘mixed’!

Soap Batter Divided

Cut bars

I also added a bit to a small bottle of liquid soap to see what would change other than gaining a really great vanilla scent and here’s the results.  First one is right after adding it in.  the second is the next day, after filtering the solution to a fresh bottle.

Body wash with Phytoscent Vanilla added

Hazy body wash

Today I’ll be adding it into some body lotion since the point of using a phytoscent is to not only scent your product but enhance it with benefits that are far beyond just great scent. In the listing from Formulator Sample Shop’s product listing I gain the following information:

  • prevents and reduces skin damage caused by free radicals, environmental pollutants
  • reduces fine lines, wrinkles, age spots
  • excellent source of B-vitamins niacin, thiamine, B-6 and pantothenic acid

While I’m not saying anything I make and use this as an additive will offer a user this very attractive side benefit, as that would be misleading of me to state such and I’d be in trouble with the FDA if I’d said as much, I will say the scent alone is wonderful enough to enjoy any day of the year!  Of course, our lotions always make the skin find its happy place.  FSS Phytoscent Vanilla just takes it one step further!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

